An emergency situation has been declared in Estonia due to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world.

From 17 March there will be a temporary restriction on entry to Estonia for foreign nationals who do not hold an Estonian residence permit or right of residence, or have family members in Estonia. Foreigners are allowed to transit Estonia on the way to their home country if they do not show symptoms of COVID-19. At the border control travel documents and medical symptoms will be checked.There are no restrictions on exiting the country.

We care about your and everyone’s health. For this reason and in order to stop the spread of the coronavirus and flu, we kindly ask you to seriously consider whether coming to the representation is essential, and refrain from doing so if you are not feeling well, suspect that you or a family member has become infected, or you or a family member has been in an area of the coronavirus epidemic in the past 14 days. Thank you for your understanding!

In addition to previous measures, restrictions on movement are in force in Estonia from 14 March in line with the emergency situation.

On 17 March 2020, applications for Schengen visas and long-stay visas to Estonia can no longer be submitted at representations and visa centres of external service providers. This also applies to Schengen visa applications that are processed by Estonia on behalf of another member state.

Further information

Coronavirus 2019-nCoV

On 12 March, the Government of Estonia declared an emergency situation in response to the pandemic spread of the coronavirus in the world. Estonia’s borders are open, however, in order to stop the spread of the virus, there are certain recommendations and measures in place.

Out of consideration for the health of international visitors as well as residents of Estonia, we recommend postponing your trips.

People coming from a risk area or who have contracted the virus/been in close contact with those affected are recommended to postpone any plans to travel to Estonia.

Anyone whose travel to Estonia from risk areas is unavoidable must remain in self-isolation for 14 days, effective from Monday, 16 March.

The risk areas as determined by the government committee on 13 March, based on recommendations of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and risk evaluation, are: China, South Korea, Singapore, Iran, Italy, France, Germany, Spain, Belgium, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Egypt. This list is subject to change.

Estonian residents are advised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia not to plan holiday travel for the coming months. We also ask to seriously consider the necessity of other travel (business trips, visits to family and friends, etc.). The risk of being quarantined or finding yourself in areas affected by restricted movement may arise very suddenly while travelling.

The exact details of self-isolation are being worked out by the Ministry of the Interior in cooperation with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs by 16 March. Further details will be clarified in due course.

More information on the virus and prevention is available on the website of the Health Board